Cross Country Season Recap

Congratulations to coaches Jim Doyle, Danny Brennan ’00 and Ryan Dean ’05 and the cross country team on another successful season!

Hendricken’s varsity cross country team went undefeated as they swept all of their Rhode Island Interscholastic League meets! The Hawks finished runner-up in the RIIL Class A Championship on Saturday, October 29th at Ponaganset High School in North Scituate. Hendricken was led by Jeffrey Venter’s 8th place finish. Aidan Tierney (9th), Sean Meehan (13th), Jonathan Iamarone (14th) and Dan Ruggiero (15th) rounded out the scoring for the Hawks.  All seven runners made All-Class.

The varsity squad had a much improved run and took second in the following week’s RIIL State Championship on Saturday, November 6th at Ponaganset High School.

Hendricken was led by Jordan Dagrin’s 10th place finish. Dagrin, a senior, was one of six runners who made All-State.

Jordan Dagrin races in the RIIL State Championships at Ponaganset High School. Photo Courtesy: Dan Pierce.

Joining Dagrin on the All-State team are Aidan Tierney, Max Waite, Sean Meehan, Jonathan Iamarone, and Dan Ruggiero.  The Hawks had an impressive performance and great effort as they concluded their season by finishing fifth in the New England Championship on Saturday, November 12th at Ponaganset High School.

Hendricken’s junior varsity cross country team reclaimed the state title with a great team victory on Saturday, October 29th at Ponanganset High School. La Salle Academy and East Greenwich High School rounded out the top three.

Jack McMahon, led the Hawks with his 2nd place finish. McMahon, finally took down his older brother Tom’s time with a blazing fast, 16:50. The JV team ran together and executed a great race plan. Ryan Mallozzi, Dylan Manning, Josh Clift, Nick Braz, Adrian Pierce and Harry Antone finished 4-9 with a 12 second (17:00-17:12) spread!

The Hawks also had a great performance in the JV2 race. Hendricken runners recorded some personal records and breakthrough performances.

Matt St. Jean finished first and Eric Carlson came in second, running a 17:45 in his season debut.

Hendricken took 10 of the top 12 spots. Matthew Smaldone (3rd), Michaelangelo Coppa (4th), Andrew Woodbine (5th), Michael DelSesto (7th), Christian Tejada (9th), Jared Forrest (10th), Luke Hensler (11th) and Mike Villucci (12th) rounded out the Hawks contingent.